The department of psychology was created as an independent department part of the field of social sciences belongs to the branch of humanities and social sciences of the University May 8, 1945 Guelma, in 2007-2008, the first of which was chaired by the teacher: Afri Malika, then by the teacher: Borgbi Manal. He then merged with the Department of Sociology during the 2011-2012 academic year and became: Department of Social Sciences in the same faculty and chaired by the teacher: Ben Sweileh Afaf Asia.

In 2015-2016, the Psychology Department again became independent of the Social Science Department and is now a separate institution headed by Mr. Abdelkader Bahtan.

The department currently has three paths, from which students graduate with a diploma:

Bachelor's degree in clinical psychology

Master in Clinical Psychology

Master in School Psychology

Doctor in Clinical Psychology

Doctor in Educational Psychology

PhD in School Health Psychology.

A selection of teachers of different degrees supervise these students. (Between doctorate and university qualification)

The department includes:

Administrative continuation

Several classrooms.

some lecture theaters

Computer room

Doctoral room

A teachers room.

An office of the scientific club of the department "Creator of success" where the students make different activated.